Miami Five Freedom Tour 2016 - Donate - Support - Build

Campaign News | Monday, 20 June 2016

Help bring the Five to Britain in 2016

On 17 December 2014, as part of talks between Cuba and the US, the final members of the Miami Five were freed from US jails.

Fernando González, René González, Antonio Guerrero, Gerardo Hernández, and Ramon Labañino were unjustly imprisoned in 1998 for trying to prevent terrorist attacks against Cuba. They received harsh sentences after infiltrating Florida based groups responsible for violent actions and bombing campaigns against the island.

On top of this, two of the wives were denied visas to visit them for more than 12 years.

British campaigners were at the forefront of the international movement for their release and took part in lobbying, speaking tours, vigils and much more.

Donate to the Miami Five Freedom Tour here

Please support the celebrations

Following an historic court victory to overturn the British government’s decision to deny René González an entry visa in 2014, the doors are now open for the Five to come to Britain.

CSC is planning a week of activities to welcome them and their families in July 2016. They will participate in major trade union events, solidarity rallies and parliamentary meetings across the country.

Finally the Five and their families will be able to celebrate their release together with the thousands of campaigners here who worked so tirelessly over so many years for justice and their freedom.

The visit comes at a pivotal time in Cuba’s history and the Five will bring the message that solidarity with Cuba is just as important as ever while the US blockade remains in place.


Donate: we need to raise £30,000 to pay for international flights, UK travel, accommodation and living expenses for the Five and their families (12 people) to come to Britain

Support: the core programme is in place but we welcome ideas for activities to help welcome the Five which we can try to incorporate into their visit

Build: we need individuals and organsations to publicise the Freedom Tour and help ensure the largest and best possible celebrations to show the Five the breadth of solidarity with Cuba.

Please donate to the costs of the tour here

Contact CSC by email on or on 020 7490 5715 if you are able to help with organising, publicising or fundraising for events in your area.

Download the Miami Five Freedom Tour and leaflet here

Find out more about the case of the Miami Five here


Thank you to the following organisations and individuals who are supporting this tour.


Kevin Amis, Paul Andrews, Avril Baker, Chris Bartter, Ivan Beavis, Cathy Pound & Ben Wallis, Dave Betchley, Katherine Bligh, Geoff Bottoms, Dorothy Braithwaite, Anne & Martin Brown, Robert Burke, Marian Anne Imelda Carty, Margaret Chatfield, A Chattin, Nina Clements, Keith Close, Helen Colley, Steve Costin, Mark Crampton, Brian & Janet Davies, Peter Dean, Stephen Doe, Ann Doyle, Morris Drever, Barbara Ellis, Teressa Flavin, Hellen Gade Lea Georgiades, John Gouvas, Bill Greenshields, Sylvia Hargrave, Sandra Hazeldon, Jon Heal, Helen Healey, Paul Hilton, David Hoadley, Brinley Hodges, Brian Holden, Kate Hurley, Stuart Hyslop, Heather Jordan, Nicholas Jones, Stephen Kennedy, Aboudjafar Khadir, Phil King, Lynne & Tony Korniak, Jordan Lancaster, Denis Lenihan, Martin & Margaret Levy, Ken Maughan, Susan McHale, Douglas McKerrell, Michael McPadden, Sean Meleady, Graham Ogden, Peter Olech, Miriam Pallacious-Callender, Dera Pearson, Marion Pencavel, M Quille, Andrew Reed, Keith Reid, Joseph Richards, Marino Riosa, Hazel Sabey, Patricia Sargent, Stephen Sawle, Matthew Screach, Andrew & Gina Siddons, Stephen Smith, Bryon Smith, Nigel Smith, Robert Smith, Terence Smith, Dr A N P Speight, William Stansbery, John Stewart, Danny Tartaglia, John Thompson-Balk, Benjamin Treuhaft, Trevor Tucker, Maureen Tullett, Ian Walmsley, Ian Webster, David Wells, Mitchell Wells, Paul Whelpton, Pam Wortley, Rachel Young


ASLEF National
BFAWU National
CSC Brighton
CSC Bristol
CSC Cymru Cuba North Wales
Cymru Cuba South Wales
CSC Leicester/Association of Indian Communists
CSC Manchester
CSC Merseyside
CSC North London
CSC Sheffield
CWU Birmingham, Black Country & Worcester
CWU Scotland No 2 Branch
FBU National
FBU Region 1 Scotland
GMB Scotland
NUT National
RMT National
Trades Councils:
Leicester and District TUC
Norwich & District
TSSA National
TUC Southern & Eastern Region
UCATT Crawley Branch
UCATT London & SE Region
Unison National
Unison Cardiff County Branch
Unison City of Edinburgh Branch
Unison Dorchester branch
Unison East Lancs Health Branch
Unison Gateshead Health Branch
Unison Hammersmith & Fulham
Unison Housing & Care Scotland Branch
Unison Knowsley Branch
Unison Manchester
Unison Natural Resources Wales Branch
Unison Newcastle City Branch
Unison Pembs County Branch
Unison South Lanarkshire
Unison Southend Borough Branch
Unison Wolverhampton General Branch
Unison Wrexham County Branch
Unite National
Unite Bebington 0096 Branch
Unite Birtley NE/GEO/8 Branch
Unite Bolton & District Branch
Unite Bristol Finance & Legal Branch
Unite East Midlands Region
Unite Fylde Coast Branch
Unite Glasgow Construction SC/164/404 Branch
Unite Greater Manchester Retired Members Branch N/W102999
Unite Greater Manchester Social Action NW/389 Branch
Unite Hartlepool NE/404/19 Construction Branch
Unite Hinkley Point B Branch SW/8015
Unite Hull NE/GEO/25 Branch
Unite LE 10 Branch
Unite Leeds NE/GEO/12 Branch
Unite London & Eastern Region
Unite Luton Retired Members LE/RM009
Unite Manchester G E M S Sector 0904 Branch
Unite NE/GEO/1 Sheffield East
Unite North East, Yorkshire & Humber Region
Unite Northern Powergrid 204/5 Branch
Unite NW0056 Bamber Bridge & Leyland
Unite NW/0611 Manchester Manufacturing Branch
Unite NW/64 BAE Systems Warton & Samlesbury Manufacturing
Unite NW/0783
Unite NW/677 Branch
Unite NW0056 Bamber Bridge & Leyland Branch
Unite Oxford General & Publishing Branch SE-0938M
Unite Preston & South Ribble Branch
Unite Rolls Royce Coventry Branch
Unite Scottish Professional Executive Staffs Branch
Unite Scunthorpe Steelworks NE/205/3 Branch
Unite South East Region
Unite SE/6241 Weybridge Branch
Unite SE/6246 Brighton Branch
Unite SW Region
Unite Tyneside Electrical, Engineering & Electronic Sectoral Branch
Unite Typhoo Tea 553 Branch
Unite Wales Region
Unite West Midlands Region
Unite Wigan Branch
Unite WM/6030 Birmingham South Loacal Branch
Unite WM6050 Coventry & Warwickshire Local Tom Mann Branch
Unite WM7686 Land Rover Branch

| top | back | home |
Share on FacebookTweet this